CME Professor winner of this year's W.H. Hobart Award

From left to right: Dr. Leijun Li and Jason Wang.
In October, Chemical and Materials Engineer Professor Dr. Leijun Li was honoured with receiving this year's best paper award from the Fabtech AWS Conference that took place in Chicago.

The paper, "Microstructure Evolution of Fine-Grained Heat-Affected Zone in Type IV Failure of Grade 91 Welds", co-authored by Jason (Yiyu) Wang, doctoral student, was selected by the American Welding Society for the 2017 W.H. Hobart Memorial Award. This prestigious award is "for a paper published in the Welding Journal during the previous calendar year that describes the best contribution to pipe welding, the structural use of pipe or similar applications." 

Leijun Li obtained his B.S. degree in welding engineering from Huazhong University of Science and Technology (Wuhan, China), and M.S. degree in mechanical engineering from Xian Jiaotong University (Xian, China). He was a faculty member from 1990 to 1994, first as a lecturer, and then as an associate professor, in the welding engineering program at Wuhan University.  

Leijun Li has been active with American Welding Society, serving on the Technical Papers and Testing of Weld's committees, and as a Principal Reviewer for the Welding Journal. He chaired the Joining Critical Technologies committee of ASM International, besides serving as a Key Reader for the Metallurgical and Materials Transactions.